top of page

5 Reasons To Take A Cold Shower


27/4/2016 0 COMMENTS

6 Reasons You Should Take a Cold Shower!

I often take cold showers, especially when my shower is playing up! One time when the kids had been playing hide and seek, one of them had knocked off the hot water switch and it was left off all night meaning we had no water for a period of time! Well after my freezing shower along with a few screams (washing hair in cold water isn't my favourite!) it did give me the idea for this post so here's five reasons why you should take a cold shower: It wakes you up!

Yup no surprise there it definitely wakes you up on a morning. But another positive thing it does is that the deep breathing you do when having a cold shower gets the blood pumping around the body, meaning that you're ready and alert for the day ahead. It helps to relieve muscle cramps

Oh DOMS (Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness), those wonderful cramps you get after exercise! If you like to exercise on a morning why not add the cold shower to your routine too. I often have my hot shower after exercise and then at the end of the shower turn it to cold and stay in for as long as I can manage (which isn't usually long!). It helps to promote fat loss

Taking cold showers can actually stimulate the good fats in our body which promotes fat burning, researchers found that exposure to cold temperatures increased the metabolic rate of good fat by fifteen fold, which could help a person drop nine pounds in a year if sustained. It can help to reduce stress

Taking cold showers can increase your bodies resistance to stress meaning that when we become stressed our bodies will start to cope better reducing the negative effects of stress. It could give your skin better appearance

If you’d like to reduce the appearance of acne, cold showers may do the job. Hot water can often dry out your skin, cold water tightens your cuticles and pores, preventing them from getting clogged. Could change your mindset

An added bonus is taking a cold shower could change your mindset - How many people do you know that take hot running water for granted. Taking a cold shower could change your mindset and realise how thankful you are for hot running water, plus all the other creature comforts we may take for granted that many people don't have. I remember when I was in Sierra Leone with the Army, we often had cold showers, especially on a morning if the sun didn't have time to heat up the water, although I was living in a tent for four months, one of the home comforts I did miss (other than my bed) was a hot shower. Especially as we were surrounded by so much poverty, it really brought home how thankful I was for everything that I had. Let me know how you get on with adding this into your routine. Any other benefits? I'd love to hear them. With Love ​Debbie


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page